• Twitter Thoughts

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 429 other followers

Changes

First off I want to tell everyone that reads this to check out the band Crown the Empire, especially their cover of Drake’s song “Forever.”  It is amazing.

Anywho, a lot has happened in the last two days. Nothing too exciting or note worthy, just some things that have left an impression on me, some good, and some bad. I guess the first thing is going to make me out to be a pretty big hypocrite in a way, but there is a reason for the phrase “do as I say, not as I do.” I’m probably the last person that should be giving someone advice but I was doing it the other day, and I thought it was good advice. I’m not going to go into detail about what everything was about, but it really grinds my gears when you tell someone to do something for the good of their health and well being and they make up excuses not to change. They agree with everything that is said, but they still find an excuse, no matter how dumb or far fetched it might be to resist changing. Like I said earlier, I do the exact same thing but I guess in a way I care more about others than I do about myself. But this isn’t about me, it’s about this certain someone slowly but surely getting out of control, and it hurts me to see it. I guess they can’t change though until they hit rock bottom, or acknowledge there is a problem themselves.

Speaking of change, it has been 23 days since I have “quit” drinking. I put quit in quotations because who know how long this is going to last really. I’d like to say it’s going to be forever, but I see nothing wrong with enjoying a beer or 12 for special occasions, as long as I don’t get out of control like I was before, drunk 4 or 5 nights a week. Anyhow, back on topic, this change that I have made in my life is pretty awesome. Waking up without a hangover every morning is probably the best gift I could ever give myself. More importantly than that, I have so much extra money that I’m not living paycheck to paycheck anymore. Now I’m not saying that I’m a millionaire overnight, it’s far from it, but the extra $60-$80+ a week that I’m saving has allowed me to do so much more than I could do before. I’ve bought myself some new things, and I’m going to more concerts in the upcoming months than I have in the last few years. It is so much nicer not having to worry about how I’m going to finagle my way around making my car payment each month. The peace of mind that I have now is worth not drinking anymore.

Leave a Reply

